Wednesday, November 4, 2009

A FRIEND OF THE FAMILY: PREVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

A BINGLE BELLS BOOK CHOICE
[<span class=
A GREAT GIFT FOR THE
BOOK LOVER ON YOUR LIST!

GIVEAWAY ENDED
A FRIEND OF THE FAMILY

BY LAUREN GRODSTEIN


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Pete Dizinoff has spent years working toward a life that would be, by all measures, deemed successful. A skilled internist, he’s built a thriving practice in suburban New Jersey. He has a devoted wife, a network of close friends, and an impressive house, and most important, he has a son, Alec, on whom he’s pinned all his hopes. Pete has afforded Alec every opportunity, bailed him out of close calls with the law, and even ensured his acceptance into a good college.

But Pete never counted on the wild card: Laura, his best friend's daughter—ten years older than Alec, irresistibly beautiful, with a past so shocking that it’s never spoken of. When Laura sets her sights on Alec, Pete sees his plans for his son not just unraveling but being destroyed completely. Believing he has only the best of intentions, he sets out to derail this romance and rescue his son. He could never have foreseen how his whole world would shatter in the process.


Lauren Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of
The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

CLICK ON THIS BOOK
TO READ AN EXCERPT
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Lauren Grodstein is the author of the collection The Best of Animals and a novel, Reproduction is the Flaw of Love, which was both a Breakout Book selection from Amazon.com and a Borders Original Voices pick. Her work has been translated into German, Italian, and French. She teaches creative writing at Rutgers University.



CLICK ON THE TOUR BUS TO SEE LAUREN'S
TOUR SCHEDULE COMING TO A PLACE
PERHAPS, NEAR YOU!!!

GIVEAWAY

THANKS TO COURTNEY AND THE
GOOD PEOPLE AT ALGONQUIN BOOKS,
I HAVE THREE COPIES OF THIS
WONDERFUL BOOK TO GIVE AWAY.

RULES
--U.S. Residents Only

--No P.O. Boxes, Please
--Email address must be in your comment
--ALL comments must be separate to count
or they will count as one instead of possibly two.


HOW TO ENTER:

+1 ENTRY: Go to Lauren Grodstein's website here and read the reviews written about this book and name one reviewer you particularly liked the review of.

+1 MORE ENTRY: Blog or Tweet about this giveaway and leave a link in your comment here that I can follow!

+1 MORE ENTRY: Follow on Google Connect (see left hand sidebar) or tell me how you do follow.

+1 MORE ENTRY: Watch for my Review and Author Interview coming soon, and come back and leave a comment for the BONUS ENTRIES
.

DEADLINE TO ENTER IS

6 PM, EST, NOVEMBER 24


GOOD LUCK!

82 comments:

Anonymous said...

I liked Sara Nelson's review.

bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

Carol said...

I liked the review by Jim Shepard of O Magazine.

wolfcarol451(at)gmail(dot)com

Carol said...

I follow on Google Friend Connect.

wolfcarol451(at)gmail(dot)com

Tea said...

I would love to read this book. After reading the reviews, I chose Publisher Weekly's Starred review because the review is simplistic and gets straight to the point.

teakettle58atyahoodotcom

holdenj said...

I liked Sara Nelson's comments about how well Lauren wrote about male suburban angst.
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

I follow with Google Friend Connect.
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

Neas Nuttiness said...

Sara Nelson's

Thanks for the giveaway!

libneas[at]aol[dot]com

Neas Nuttiness said...

I follow - thanks.

libneas[at]aol[dot]com

Tea said...

I have linked.

lauren-grodstein

Tea said...

I follow by Google.

Tea said...

I have another link. I'm afraid the other one won't work.

http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/11/friend-of-family-by-lauren-grodstein.html

Jo-Jo said...

I would love to be entered for this book.
joannelong74 AT gmail DOT com

Jo-Jo said...

I'm also a follower.
joannelong74 AT gmail DOT com

Linda K said...

I liked Kate Christensen's review most. It really makes me want to read this book.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Linda K said...

GFC follower

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Diane said...

I've been eying this book, and would love to be entered.

bibliophilebythesea AT gmail DOT com

bekki1820cb said...

I liked Irina Reyn,author of What Happened to Anna K's review. bekki1820cb@gmail.com

bekki1820cb said...

I am a follower
bekki1820cb@gmail.com

bekki1820cb said...

tweet: http://twitter.com/bekki1820cb/status/5437179123
bekki1820cb@gmail.com

Martha Lawson said...

I liked the review Booklist gave!

mlawson17 at hotmail dot com

Martha Lawson said...

I'm a google follower

mlawson17 at hotmail dot com

Margie said...

I liked Kate Christensen's review.

mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

Margie said...

Your site is on my Favorites list, and I stop by quite often to see what's new.
mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

Jo-Jo said...

I blogged about your contest here.
joannelong74 AT gmail DOT com

rubynreba said...

I liked Elizabeth Strout's review.
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

rubynreba said...

I follow.
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

rubynreba said...

She is a phenomenal parallel-parker! I find this interesting because I am not!
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

Neas Nuttiness said...

I learned that she just finished reading “The Pine Barrens,” by John McPhee.

Thanks for the giveaway.

libneas[at]aol[dot]com

Margie said...

Bonus...
She teaches creative writing at Rutgers.
Thanks for the giveaway!

mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

lag123 said...

I thought Sara Nelson's review was most descriptive. Please enter me.

lag110@mchsi.com

lag123 said...

I follow on google connect and google reader.

lag110@mchsi.com

Tea said...

The whole interview is interesting. I love the way Lauren described a character popping in her head. I also tuned in to what she likes to read. I happen to have a copy of "Come To Me" by Amy Bloom. I love short stories. I also love coming of age themes. So, I have to say thank you to Lauren Gordstein for that information. "The Rachel Papers" is an interesting title. Plus, I've never read Martin Amis. Thank you so much for this time to learn more about an author with a newly published book.

teakettle58atyahoodotcom

Mitz said...

Being a mother of 3 teenage boys this book sounds pretty good to me.

misty_labean@yahoo.com

Anonymous said...

I liked Publishers Weekly review.

misty_labean@yahoo.com

Mitz said...

I like Publishers Weekly review

misty_labean@yahoo.com

Mitz said...

I am following by google connect on blog

misty_labean@yahoo.com

Mitz said...

I enjoyed reading Laurens interview, very informative.

misty_labean@yahoo.com

LoveMy2Dogs said...

I would have to say I like Sara Nelson's review the best.

jrandtam[at]columbus.rr.com

Marilu said...

I couldn't decided between 2 comments I liked the best. They were by
- Elizabeth Strout, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Olive Kitteridge
and.
- Kate Christensen, author of Trouble

Thanks for the entry!
lovemykidsandbooks AT gmail DOT com

Marilu said...

I follow your blog!!
lovemykidsandbooks AT gmail DOT com

Marilu said...

I really enjoyed the interview. One thing I found interesting is that she referred to herself as a "phenomenal parallel-parker". I got a kick out of that sentence. One thing I would have like dto ask is " do you think you could teach my mother that skill?". Thanks for the entries!
lovemykidsandbooks AT gmail DOT com

g.g. said...

Publisher's Weekly did a nice review

anjamie4 AT gmail (dot) com

g.g. said...

I follow on google friend connect and thanks for the chance at this book

anjamie4 AT gmail (dot) com

Anonymous said...

I follow at Google Connect.

bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

Anonymous said...

Bonus entry-The author must have terrific spatial relations; she is an excellent parker.

bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

Bethie said...

I like Elizabeth Strout's review. I love when a book stays with you even when you put it down.

lizzi0915 at aol dot com

Bethie said...

I follow on Google friend connect.

lizzi0915 at aol dot com

Sue said...

I enjoyed Elizabeth Strout's review. I really loved how honest it seemed. Thanks for the giveaway.

s.mickelson at gmail dot com

Deb K said...

I really liked Elizabeth Strout's review.

deb55106{at}gmail{dot}com

Deb K said...

I follow on Google Friend Connect!

Deb K

deb55106(at)gmail(dot)com

catss99 said...

I liked Sara Nelsons
amanda
catss99@yahoo.com

catss99 said...

i follow on google connect
amanda
catss99@yahoo.com

catss99 said...

tweet
http://twitter.com/catss99/status/5643374616

amanda
catss99@yahoo.com

LoveMyCoffee said...

Jim Shepard, from the O Magazine had a short and direct review

Dutchlvr1(at)aol(dot)com

LoveMyCoffee said...

I follow by Google Friend Connect

Dutchlvr1(at)aol(dot)com

Karen in TN said...

I liked T Cooper's review.

kolists a/t gmail d\t com

Karen in TN said...

I follow via RSS.


kolists a/t gmail d\t com

Lynnie said...

My pick of the reviewers is Kate Christensen, author of Trouble. Simply put but concise.

Mytyme2 at gmail dot com

traveler said...

Thanks for this great giveaway. This book fascinates me. The Publishers Weekly review is interesting. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

Deb K said...

Tweet!

http://twitter.com/Deb55106/statuses/5759071686


deb55106{at}gmail{dot}com

alterlisa said...

“These people will stay in your head and keep their hands on your heart. Grodstein's skills at storytelling are unwavering."
- Elizabeth Strout, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Olive Kitteridge

That's what I want a book to do "stay in my head...heart"

alterlisa(at)yahoo(dot)com

Kim said...

I liked this review: Elizabeth Strout, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Olive Kitteridge

Kim said...

google follower

Debbie F said...

Count me in! this sounds so good!
I'm a follower!

Thanks
dcf_beth at verizon dot net

Debbie F said...

I really liked Elizabeth Strout's review!

dcf_beth at verizon dot net

Sandy Jay said...

I follow with Google Reader.

forwhlz at gmail dot com

Amy said...

I particularly liked Elizabeth Strout's review of this book but all of the reviews say things about the book that really intrigue me.

Thank you for this giveaway!

Aimala127 AT gmail DOT com

Amy said...

I follow on Google Connect!


Aimala127 AT gmail DOT com

Jaime said...

liked Jim Shepard, O: The Oprah Magazine
copperllama at yahoo dot com

Jaime said...

google friend
copperllama at yahoo dot com

Debs Desk said...

I like author Kate Christensen's review.

Debbie
debdesk9@verizon.net

Debs Desk said...

I am a follower.
Thanks
Debbie
debdesk9(at)verizon.net

Pricilla said...

I like Kate Christensen's review
thank you
kaiminani at gmail dot com

Pricilla said...

I follow with google friend connect
thank you
kaiminani at gmail dot com

and according to my word verification I am a trolless

ossmcalc said...

I like Jim Shepard's review.

thank you,

Christine
womackcm@sbcglobal.net

ossmcalc said...

I tweeted about this giveaway
http://twitter.com/ossmcalc/status/5993596042

thank you,

Christine
womackcm@sbcglobal.net

ossmcalc said...

I follow on Google Friend Connect.

Thank you,

Christine
womackcm@sbcglobal.net

Nancye said...

I liked - Ron Charles of The Washington Post the best.

nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

Nancye said...

Follower on Google Friend Connect

nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

Nancye said...

Tweet! Tweet!

http://twitter.com/NancyeDavis/status/6011162494

nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

Amy said...

I blogged about this giveaway here:

Giveaways

Thank you!

Aimala127 AT gmail DOT com

Amy said...

I tweeted this giveaway here:
http://twitter.com/Amestir/status/6014824162


Aimala127 AT gmail DOT com

CLICK HERE TO
SEE MY POLICY