Tuesday, June 30, 2015

ARE YOU LISTENING? AN EMBER IN THE ASHES: A PREVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

WELCOME TO BOOKIN' WITH BINGO'S" 
ARE YOU LISTENING? DAY"  
I AM EXCITED TO ANNOUNCE TODAY'S  
AUDIO BOOK CHOICE.....
*******************************************
GIVEAWAY ENDED
EMBER IN THE ASHES
NARRATED BY FIONA HARDINGHAM
AND STEVE WEST
BY SABAA TAHIR
  
ABOUT THE AUDIO BOOK:
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER

Perfect for fans of Red Queen and Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series, An Ember in the Ashes, is the first book in an exhilarating fantasy adventure series about the power of hope in the face of oppression. 

Debut novelist Sabaa Tahir tells the thrilling, heart-wrenching story of two unforgettable characters willing to sacrifice everything for the chance to write their own destinies. 

In a world inspired by ancient Rome and defined by brutality, seventeen-year old Laia has grown up with one rule for survival: Never challenge the Empire. But when Laia’s brother Darin is arrested for treason, she leaves behind everything she knows, risking her life to try and save him. She enlists help from the rebels whose extensive underground network may lead to Darin. Their help comes with a price, though. Laia must infiltrate the Empire’s greatest military academy as a spy. 

Elias is the Empire’s finest soldier—and its most unwilling one. Since childhood, he has trained to become one of the Masks, deadly fighters who ravage and destroy in the name of the Empire. But Elias is secretly planning a dangerous escape from the very tyranny he has sworn to enforce. 

Thrown together by chance and united by their hatred of the Empire, Laia and Elias will soon discover that their fates are intertwined—and that their choices may change the destiny of the entire Empire. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s eighteen-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash, and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks, and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family. 

For more information, please visit Sabaa at SabaaTahir.com or on Twitter @SabaaTahir.

PRAISE FOR EMBER IN THE ASHES:
“This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human—and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” —The Washington Post

“[An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makes Ember a worthy novel—and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy.” —Us Weekly

“An Ember in the Ashes mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones…and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet.” —The Hollywood Reporter

“Blew me away…This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic—expect to be completely transported.” —MTV.com

“Fast-paced, well-structured and full of twists and turns, An Ember in the Ashes is an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next.” —NPR

“Once you get caught up in the story, it’s addictive, and there’s no way you can put it down before you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn’t.” —Bustle 

“One thing I can say for sure: this is a page-turner. There comes a moment when it’s impossible to put it down. Sabaa Tahir is a strong writer, but most of all, she’s a great storyteller.” —The Huffington Post
GIVEAWAY

 THANKS TO RICHARD AND THE FOLKS AT
PENGUIN/RANDOM HOUSE AUDIO,
I HAVE ONE COPY OF THIS
FASCINATING AUDIO BOOK TO 
GIVE AWAY TO ONE LUCKY WINNER!
  
--U.S. RESIDENTS ONLY
--NO P. O. BOXES, PLEASE
--INCLUDE EMAIL ADDRESS IN COMMENT
--ALL ENTRIES/COMMENTS MUST BE 
SEPARATE IN ORDER TO COUNT 
AS MORE THAN ONE ENTRY
HOW TO ENTER:
+1 ENTRY: COMMENT ON SOMETHING YOU FOUND INTERESTING ABOUT EMBER IN THE ASHES THAT WOULD MAKE YOU WANT TO WIN THIS AUDIO BOOK

+1 MORE ENTRY: BLOG OR TWEET ABOUT THIS GIVEAWAY AND LEAVE A LINK I CAN FOLLOW IN THE ENTRY


+1 MORE ENTRY: COMMENT ON SOMETHING YOU FIND INTERESTING ON SABAA TAHIR'S WEBSITE BY GOING HERE


+1 MORE ENTRY: COMMENT ON ONE OTHER CURRENT GIVEAWAY YOU HAVE ENTERED ON MY BLOG. IF YOU ENTERED MORE THAN ONE, YOU CAN COMMENT ON EACH ON SEPARATELY AND GAIN MORE ENTRIES THAT WAY


+1 MORE ENTRY: COMMENT ON ONE WAY YOU FOLLOW MY BLOG. IF YOU FOLLOW MORE THAN ONE WAY, YOU CAN COMMENT SEPARATELY AND EACH WILL COUNT AS AN ENTRY
GIVEAWAY ENDS AT
 6 PM, EST, JULY 18
GOOD LUCK!

28 comments:

Jen Scott said...

Sabaa Tahir is a new author for me. An Ember in the Ashes sounds like an exciting fantasy. I do like a story where the characters fight against "evil."
myrifraf(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

I've actually been hearing very good things about this book and think the Roman background, rather than straight sci fi sounds good. Thanks!
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Email subscriber
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

GFC follower
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Bushel Full of Murder
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Yarn Over Murder
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

Margie said...

Sounds like a thrilling series. Thanks for the giveaway.
mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

Carol N Wong said...

Fantasy Adventure is not my favorite genre, audio book is my favorite mode though.

CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

petite said...

This would be an adventure. Thanks. elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

petite said...

Follower. elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

petite said...

Email subscriber. elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

petite said...

A very talented author. elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

traveler said...

Captivating and intriguing. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

traveler said...

Email subscriber. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

traveler said...

What a creative writer. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Hope
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Memory Man
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered President's Shadow
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Fatal Fortune
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Magic and Macaroons
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Collared For Murder
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Zoo
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Tying the Knot
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Spellcasting in Silk
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

Anonymous said...

This book sounds really good. I love a book about good versus evil. Thanks for the giveaway. Tore923@aol.com

Anonymous said...

I am a follower and email subscriber. Tore923@aol.com

holdenj said...

Entered Macaroni and Freeze.
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

holdenj said...

Entered Fatal Reservations
JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

CLICK HERE TO
SEE MY POLICY